Skip to main content
Journeys Poster

Mar 23, 2024

Journeys: Shostakovich, Ravel & Marsalis

presented by Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra

Event Details

Julian Kuerti, Conductor
Yekwon Sunwoo, Piano

Three outstanding works weave three compelling stories. Witness the world premiere of a work written for the KSO by legendary musician Branford Marsalis, a glowing example of today’s voices breathing new life into orchestral music! Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand gave new hope to a pianist wounded in World War I, embracing human resilience and triumph. Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony, written as an act of defiance, is filled with bold brass and roaring percussion.